LISTEN!

Rant post! If you haven’t watched this video, watch it.

Suara Mahasiswa

This video has sparked rage and controversy among students in Malaysia who are actually concerned about their rights, especially those in local universities. I can totally relate because I’m awaiting my STPM results, and I’m planning on applying to a local uni myself.

All except UUM. For obvious reasons.

I’m turning 20 this year and I am a victim of the country’s hardly affordable tertiary education system. All I’m asking is, why can’t we have free education? I had to go through hell just to finish my form six, and yet, I am still unclear about my path.

No one should be subject to such uncertainty. Especially not if, like me, you weren’t born to rich parents. If I could pay for my own education, I would. But I can’t. And my parents cannot afford to send me off to a private university, and I’m undoubtedly not alone on this one. Why not make education free for all?

But no that’s not what pisses me off. What makes me angry is that we, as students, aren’t allowed to express ourselves without being berated and belittled by “O-Levels” and “degree” holders. We are deprived of free speech and we are told to “Listen” no less than 11 times and we are “treated” to irrelevant examples about dogs and cats and shark fin.

Yes, I have a heart for animals, but what does that have to do with anything? If your idea of respect is to interrupt someone in the middle of their speech, and then try to bribe 2,300 students with a Samsung galaxy Note, then I’m sorry, but let me “respect” you in that way and we’ll both see how you like it. And don’t even bother speaking about democracy when free speech isn’t even allowed in your book.

Sharifah is one problem. The rest of the UUM students is another. Here you are, in the process of obtaining your degree in your respective fields of interest, and yet you don’t have enough sensibility to tell right from wrong? All for what, a Samsung galaxy note?

We need more student heroes like this one. One who isn’t afraid to speak up, one who will fight for the rights of the rest of the underprivileged students. And “adults” with “O-Levels” and “degrees” shouldn’t impede this and actually learn from it.

Nope, rage post has not yet ended. Second part of my rage goes out to all those ignorant students, who, just because they’re privileged, mock the rest of us who actually root for this cause. Remember that knowledge is beyond what books can offer, and that an empty can makes the most noise. This is your country as much as it is mine and I’m sorry that I’m unable to afford private education, whereas you are.

Arrogant people need to be wiped off the face of this earth, really. The higher up you are, the higher chances are that you’ll fall down and hurt yourself.

End of rant post.

Author: Natalie Ha

I remember being enthralled with the written word ever since my parents started reading fairytales to me at a young age. Seeing the power it has to influence behaviours and mindsets, I have learned, over the years, to translate my thoughts onto paper, in an attempt to positively disrupt the lives of others. Having my written works published in various forms of media has empowered me to weave stories that people can resonate with. I look forward to the life-long process of perfecting this craft, and hope to see my work touch the hearts of many in the future. This blog attempts to do just that - and I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy penning it down.

Leave a Reply

