Dear PM

I am deeply saddened by the remark that BN won the 13th General Election only by a narrow margin because of a “Chinese Tsunami”. This has, without a shadow of a doubt, caused a stir among the Chinese community. That very irresponsible statement has spawned highly provoking newspaper reports, one of which was headlined “Apa lagi yang Cina mahu?” (What more do the Chinese want?) in Utusan Malaysia today, labelling us as “ungrateful” and “extremists”.

When I was in high school, the 1Malaysia concept was formed. Since then, my peers and I have been required to write essays regarding the concept. Frankly, I thought it was a wonderful concept. I, along with many others, strongly believe that racism comes from the very narrow-minded. This is why I always spoke highly of 1Malaysia in all my essays, whether it was written in English or BM. It was an amazing dream, to see everyone of all races live harmoniously in one country. As they say, we are MALAYSIANS first, then Chinese/Malay/Indians second.

Come post-elections, what has happened to 1Malaysia now? New term, new ideology? I think not. Now, there are numerous reports of violence being instigated upon the Chinese. Why are we being blamed even though your party won by majority? Have you forgotten about the Chinese who Β voted for BN? Or the Malays who voted for PR?

After Utusan Malaysia published that article today, I was crushed. You see, I have a dream of becoming a journalist one day. I have a dream to write for a magazine or a newspaper, penning my thoughts and sharing them to the public. However, after today, my dreams have been shattered. Is this what mainstream media has become? A medium for the widespread of racism and false accusations? My integrity should never have to suffer just for my dreams to come true.

I sincerely hope that the allegations of 13th May 2013 remain as allegations. Now, we are forced to fear for our safety. We have to make sure we come home early every evening in fear that we will be physically harmed just because we are Chinese.

In Sarawak, we live together peacefully. Malay, Chinese, Indian? Those are just labels. In my class, we were close-knit family members. Even up till today, I remain close to my Malay and Indian friends. They are wonderful people and I regard them as my brothers and sisters. It is very common to hear of Malays getting a Chinese education and Chinese getting a Malay education. Why? Because the colour of our skin or our surnames do not define who we are. Our actions and words do.

All I am saying is, it doesn’t matter who won the General Elections or how now. Our leaders have been chosen, and now we can only hope that they will fulfill all the promises they have made, regardless of political party. What I am asking for now is for the racism to end.

Dear PM, please do something about this. Now is a great time for “Janji Ditepati”.

Leave a Reply

