Adapting

Image

 

It is approaching the end of my first month in university. Finally, after years of yearning for an escape from formal education, here I am, pursuing my undergraduate degree, majoring in something that will bring me one step closer to my dreams.

 

“No one said it would be easy, no one ever said it would be this hard.”

 

I guess you could say I’ve been living a rather sheltered life at home over the years. I have privacy, an air-conditioned room, my own bathroom, a comfortable bed, and parents who go all out to make things convenient for me. At home, I have the freedom to drive wherever I want to, in my own time and pace.

 

After STPM ended, I took up a job for a few months. The rest of the time was spent at home, assisting my mother with her tutoring, chauffeuring my brother around or just simply relaxing with a book or a movie or TV show in the comforts of home.

 

Fast forward 9 months later — it is September, I have to wake up as early as 7am to get ready for lectures that start at 8am. On Mondays, I have classes from 8am to 5pm with only an hour’s break in between. Meals are my own responsibility and lecture halls are a 15 minute walk from my dorm. 

 

Assignments are given by the truckload and we are required to work with teammates we hardly know. We share a room with people we’ve never met. And in my case, I am studying subjects I have no prior knowledge about — Social Science, Political Science, Psychology, Economics and Social History.

 

Image

 

What makes it worthwhile is knowing that dreams don’t come easy. Time is short and I have to make the most of what little I have. I will adapt. I have to. There is a lot at stake. More than anyone could ever imagine.

 

Image

 

Image

 

Knowing that there are people I can call “friends” on this journey with me makes everything better. Three years is not a long time. With the right motivation and determination, I will be what I have always dreamed to be. I will make a difference.

Leave a Reply

