Comfort Food

This is my inaugural food post! *pops champagne* So after a day of slaving in the unbelievably cold university library, my mum brought me back to civilisation for some of this.

So for those of you who aren’t from Malaysia, I’m going to describe each picture in this collage for you.

(Clockwise from left) 1. “Ochien”, or oyster omelet — it’s made from oysters (obviously) and deep fried in flour. Don’t be deceived, it tastes WAY better than it looks. 2. Sweet and sour prawns (in honour of our Chinese ancestry, we have food cooked in sweet and sour sauce often enough) with capsicum and tomatoes. 3. “Midin belacan” or jungle ferns cooked in the most divine thing ever, shrimp paste (which, apparently, is made from krill. Who knew?). I know it sounds really gross but I swear it is the best vegetable ever. And no, I haven’t been poisoned from eating it (yet) so it’s completely safe! 4. Venison with ginger in soy sauce (the best kind of meat ever)

Okay so I just realized how typical Chinese these dishes are, but what can I say? When it comes to food, I don’t want to deny my heritage.

Where did I go for such divine food, you may ask? Tonight, we went to Bukit Mata Seafood, which is located on the uppermost floor of One Jaya Mall at Jalan Song, Kuching. I know that this probably isn’t the best place for seafood but it happens to be the nearest alternative since my mum picked me up from my university campus, which is in Kota Samarahan, approximately 10-15 minutes away from Jalan Song.

Usually I enjoy the food from Bukit Mata Seafood, but tonight it kind of disappointed me. The “Ochien” was oilier than usual (although still amazing), the prawns were scarce, and the venison wasn’t tender. The only thing I dislike about this place is their inconsistency. On their good days, their food is really, really good.

If anyone has any other seafood restaurant suggestions, I’m open for it. So far the best seafood restaurants that I know are in Buntal, but Buntal is a bloody 45 minute drive from Kuching city. Hell no.

Back to studying about polities, ideologies, governance and constitution now *rolls eyes*. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

