2014 Goals & Resolutions

Okay, so I’m about 11 days late with this one. I have a perfectly justifiable reason for this– I have been bogged down with finals. It’s insane how nocturnal a person can get once he or she realizes that nothing has been done to prepare for exams. But I digress.

 

I’ve heard so many people, in an attempt to be “hipster”, say that “goals and resolutions are not for me” and that “if you want to change, why wait for the new year when you can do it tomorrow?” I disagree. I think in our natural state, humans are typically procrastinators and a clean slate is the perfect motivator for a 180 change. Let’s face it, how many of us are going to wake up tomorrow morning and say “TODAY I WILL LOSE 3KGS.” That’s really unrealistic.

 

That being said, I have compiled my personal list of resolutions for the new year. It is now Day 10 and I haven’t done a lot, but a little goes a long way eh? Yeah. That’s what I tell myself so I can sleep better at night. I warn you though, my resolutions are explicitly general, which gives me space to achieve my goals realistically. I won’t be writing anything like “Obtain a CGPA of 3.857539158301” or something, in case I don’t achieve it. This is what I did last year, by the way, and I am proud to say I have achieved 5/7 out of the resolutions I made last year. *beaming*

 

Read last year’s New Year post here : https://natalieeeha.wordpress.com/2013/01/09/christmas-2012-new-year-2013/

 

RESOLUTIONS FOR THE NEW YEAR 2014

1.     Smile more

I’ve noticed that a smile goes a long way. No joke. Normally, I say “thank you” to most people, be it drivers who let me pass at a busy intersection (regardless of whether they can hear me or not) or a waitress who hands me change. What I’ve realized, though, is that the smile that I give when I say “thank you” is kind of awkward– I get shifty-eyed and I smile curtly. However, I’ve recently picked up trying to smile genuinely, and I’m proud to say that it has made me so happy in more than one occasion where the person on the receiving end returns the favour and gives me a huge smile in return. 😀 Also, my new braces are really flashy and I want to show them off hahahaha just kidding.

 

2.     Curse less

If you have been close to me for a while now, you will notice that I say WTF a lot, and by WTF I don’t mean the acronym. The problem is that I have been cursing for so long now that every time I curse, I don’t actually mean it and I say it out of frustration (and mainly habit). Staying in a home where my parents and brother curse quite a fair bit doesn’t help much either. I attribute this nasty habit not only to the household I was raised in (yes, mum and dad, I’m looking at both of you), but also from the fact that I was from an all-girls school THEN moved to an all-boys school. Come on, no one is THAT polite when they’re in single-sex schools. Soft-spoken and well-mannered girls nowadays is like trying to look for an English-speaking student in my university– extremely rare, and when you find one, DO NOT LET GO. 

 

3.     Learn To Cook

All right, then, I guess you’ve figured out which one of two resolutions I did not manage to accomplish last year. In my defense… Okay I have no justifiable reason for this, but this year, that is going to change. I am going to cook things that aren’t rice and instant noodles! Watch me! Although my resolution last year was to be more domesticated, I did become a professional hostel cleaner.. Does that count? *half-hearted smile*

 

4.     Study Harder

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA *catches breath* HAHAHAHAHAHAHA. I’ve been saying this every year since I entered school at the age of 4. Okay, that is a slight exaggeration, but I think I really mean it this time! My future is at stake here! In the past, I scraped through by the skin of my teeth and I think I’ve already run out of luck.

 

.. But as I type this, I have 5 copies of unread Sociology lecture notes, and I will be tested tomorrow.

 

In all seriousness, I’ve been thinking about my future a lot recently and I’ve realized that the only person who can shape my future is myself. If I don’t do anything about it, no one will. I refuse to sit on my bum and clean the house, feed the dogs (I do not want children and I hate cats with a fiery passion, so dogs it is!) and cook for my husband after I’m married. I want to be a working woman earning my own living without letting a man define my financial status or abilities as a woman. The only way I can do that right now is to study hard and cultivate my talents. 

 

5.     Self-Actualization

Carl Rogers said it best, “The organism has one basic tendency and striving – to actualize, maintain, and enhance the experiencing organism.” In Layman’s terms, it basically means that we are built to be the best we can be. Self-actualization is actually a concept I came across when I was studying for my Psychology 101 paper. In Abraham Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs, self-actualization is at the peak of the pyramid of needs. In all honesty, I think I’ve only managed to hit the lowest level– the physiological needs part. I haven’t been able to obtain safety (security), love and belonging (only in certain aspects) and definitely not esteem, and this, sadly, means that I have a long way to go until I reach the point of self-actualization.

 

I’m maintaining a positive outlook about it though, because I believe that every human has the full capacity to change and grow. Therefore, self-actualization will be the biggest resolution I have this year.

 

 

 

I’ve shared my goals and resolutions, what are yours? 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

