Confessions Of An Overthinker

I can’t be the only person who overthinks. By overthink, I mean mentally harping on a particular issue until it becomes a problem, even though it wasn’t one in the first place. If I had an iPhone for every time someone said to me, “You’re thinking too much”, I would have enough to open an Apple store and provide for consumers for about a year.

In all honesty, I have no clue why this happens to me so much. Something to do with my anxiety issues, methinks. But if there are any of you out there who is like me, here are some of my tips to get me through my almost-mental breakdown.

1. Reset Your Thoughts
This may be difficult, because there isn’t any physical button or lever you can push and have your thoughts magically reset, but what I usually do is take a breath, bask in some sort of silence, and let that silence emanate in your mind. Of course, that doesn’t take away the problem but at least it takes you away from the problem.

2. Listen To Music
What I’ve learned from this activity is that if I listen to particularly meaningful lyrics of a song, I actually stop to listen to the lyrics and let it simmer and sink in my mind. Music like that of David Choi, John Mayer and Michael Bublé usually works for me— the ones that speak of love, because that is the essence of music anyway; love.

3. Look For A Second Opinion
Sometimes, it is very much easier to find someone who will give you a brutally honest second opinion— someone who can be your anchor. During times when I am thinking too much, I like to turn to friends who aren’t afraid to tell me to stop thinking. Friends like that are the ones I am grateful for.

Overthinking is a silent mental killer. Do not let it take over your mind, and do not let it manifest into anxiety.

Leave a Reply

