Day 3: My Favourite Quote

Dum Spiro Spero

 

3236606182_7a87c4e185_o
Photo taken from http://www.sarawakdotcom.blogspot.com

 

“While I breathe, I hope”. A quote so beautifully etched on the building that houses the Kuching Post Office, a great reminder for all of us to never stop hoping. It was the official motto of the Kingdom of Sarawak during the Brooke rule, and I love how there are still people who remember it. 

 

One day, as my mum and I were driving home, we were stuck in a jam in front of the post office, and that’s when I saw it: Dum Spiro Spero. Out of curiosity, I googled its meaning, and the its meaning dumbfounded me instantly. Of course, it has its significance in the roots of Sarawak history, but it impacted me so deeply that I vowed never to forget it. 

 

A quote that reminds us that even in the darkest of times, we should never give up hope. A quote that reminds us that while we still have life left in us, it is hope that keeps us going. A quote that gives us the promise of a better future. In other words, a quote that reminds me to never, ever give up.

Leave a Reply

