Day 4: My Dream Job

When I was younger, I loved to read and write. I used to write about anything and everything. I stapled pieces of paper together with my stories in them, and called them my “books”. I loved English class and siezed every opportunity I had to write essays. My parents realized that when I was 5 — I had a story I’d written about my deceased younger brother published in my kindergarten’s yearly publication, and my teachers called up my parents to inform them that I could write.

 

Nothing could dampen my enthusiasm for writing– it was the one thing I was really good at and it made me feel good about myself, not only because I was good at it; but because it was a great platform for me to express myself. I was a shy kid, and writing had a way of changing that for me. 

 

As the years passed, I learned more about the real world. I was socially conditioned to think of writing as a less-than-practical career; that it was useless, not lucrative in the least, and simply, nothing an Asian should be proud of. With that, I pushed all my interests aside and focused on pursuing a career in the field of science. 

 

It was in Form 6 that I realized that I just couldn’t excel in the subjects I had no interest in. I was conflicted; my mind told me to just endure the science stream so that I could take up a degree in nutrition and dietetics. My heart, however, always went back to the past, reminding me of what I enjoyed the most: Writing. 

 

One day, true to my curious nature, I googled myself and I found http://sixthseal.com/2004/03/my-dear-daughter-natalie/, a blog by blogger Poh Huai Bin, someone who used to be a colleague of my mother’s. He had apparently blogged about me, when I was only 10 years old. It had been 7 years and I had unearthed something from my childhood which I kept suppressed in my memories simply because I didn’t want to remember it. I had a passion for writing unlike no one else I knew, and I realized then and there that I should stop listening to what the people around me were saying and just do what I loved doing. 

 

With the support of my mother, we finally convinced the rest of my family members, particularly my conventional father, that I should be writing as a career in the future instead of completing a degree I had no interest in, and suffering while doing it. Today, I am a Communications major and one of the very few people in my class of a hundred who want to pursue writing upon graduation. My journey as a writer so far has been the most tumultuous– I have fallen in and out of love for it more often than Kim Kardashian changes sexual partners. I am constantly lazy and uninspired, and I write only to a small audience of supporters who are mostly my friends, but that does not stifle my passion for it. 

 

That explains my dream job– a boring desk job sitting by the computer every day and typing away until I develop carpal tunnel syndrome; but that is what makes me happy. Earning a salary that won’t impress most people, most probably, but still going to work with nothing on my mind but pure, unadulterated happiness.

 

Author: Natalie Ha

I remember being enthralled with the written word ever since my parents started reading fairytales to me at a young age. Seeing the power it has to influence behaviours and mindsets, I have learned, over the years, to translate my thoughts onto paper, in an attempt to positively disrupt the lives of others. Having my written works published in various forms of media has empowered me to weave stories that people can resonate with. I look forward to the life-long process of perfecting this craft, and hope to see my work touch the hearts of many in the future. This blog attempts to do just that - and I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy penning it down.

2 thoughts on “Day 4: My Dream Job”

  1. It’s good to see that you’ve followed your dreams! 🙂

    Your mom was always very proud of you, and I was amazed at your writing capabilities at such a young age, when I first met you at 10. You reminded me of myself when I was younger, I’ve always loved to write too.

    Congrats on being a Comm major and all the best in your future undertakings! Cheers.

Leave a Reply

