Day 5: My Proudest Moment

Today’s post isn’t going to come easy for me, because I don’t think I have just one moment that I can call my “proudest”. My life is a collection of great moments and not-so-great moments; some that are painful to remember, whereas some others come flooding back from time to time. So here it is, my three proudest moments thus far: 

 

1)     Passing my STPM

Some people may see this as barely a challenge but based on my previous posts, (https://natalieeeha.wordpress.com/2014/09/04/day-1-my-blogs-name/ and https://natalieeeha.wordpress.com/2013/03/23/21st-march-2013/) you guys might remember that I was going through some pretty rough times back in 2012. I had already mentally prepared myself for the prospect of failure because I knew that I didn’t perform up to par. I was falling behind in every class and I let my circumstances be a lousy excuse for my performance (or lack thereof). When I got my results that said I had passed, I was relieved that the last few months leading up to the exam were fruitful. I was also extremely glad to be among the few students in my class to have passed Math, so this was definitely something I have been proud of.

 

2)     Getting into university

Because I passed my STPM, getting into university was not as difficult as I initially thought it would be. I already had the odds stacked against me; my parents couldn’t afford private education, my results weren’t all that great, and I definitely didn’t (and still don’t!) have the racial qualification for it. However, after fervent prayer and overcoming a few hurdles along the way, I made it. Not into the top school of my choice, but realistically, I think that I got what I deserved. In the end, I’m now a Communications major in a university that’s a 15 minute drive from home, and I have a lot to be grateful for.

 

3)     Reprioritizing and refocusing

I had struggled through many identity crises in my life, trying to fit into places I didn’t belong, and trying to turn myself into the person I desperately wanted to be, but clearly wasn’t. I took time off from negative people who were constantly pulling me down, and I focused solely on my own personal soul-searching. I learnt about myself in a way I never did before, and I taught myself the art of endurance and determination. I brought all these newly-learnt values with me to university; and although there have been, on many occasions, challenges I’ve had to face, I’m proud to say that so far, it has been so good. I’ve been taught not to pass up opportunities that have been given to me, and I’ve finally learned how to prioritize and put my needs ahead of my wants. Now, it doesn’t take much for me to sit down and study proactively, and I love what I’m studying, no matter how difficult or easy. I have goals and ambitions that I never used to have, and now, they don’t seem as far away. 

Author: Natalie Ha

I remember being enthralled with the written word ever since my parents started reading fairytales to me at a young age. Seeing the power it has to influence behaviours and mindsets, I have learned, over the years, to translate my thoughts onto paper, in an attempt to positively disrupt the lives of others. Having my written works published in various forms of media has empowered me to weave stories that people can resonate with. I look forward to the life-long process of perfecting this craft, and hope to see my work touch the hearts of many in the future. This blog attempts to do just that - and I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy penning it down.

Leave a Reply

