Day 7: My 5 Favourite Songs

Today’s challenge is really a challenge to me– to pick 5 songs as my “favourites”. I listen to music all the time and my Spotify window is perpetually open because I love music. I listen to all kinds of songs– oldies, not-so-oldies, and current top hits. I may not like them all, but the chances of me knowing a song (that’s not heavy metal or EDM) are high. After much thought, here are my 5 favourite songs (in no particular order, because you’re rude if you put me through that torture after what I’m being made to do today!)

1)     Just The Way You Are by Billy Joel

This song has one of the best lyrics ever in a love song.

“Don’t go changing, to try and please me

You never let me down before

I would not leave you in times of trouble

We never could have come this far

I took the good times, I’ll take the bad times

I’ll take you just the way you are”

Definitely beats today’s love songs. “I-I love you like a love song baby and I keep hitting repeat-peat-peat-peat-peat” wtf.

2)     Best of Me by Michael Buble

Another amazing love song. Of course, out of sheer biasness, I prefer Michael Buble’s cover over the original because he is awesome and that’s final.

3)     High and Dry by Radiohead

This song reminds me of how awesome 90s music was. I wish people still made music like that.

4)     More Than Words by Extreme

This list is turning into My 5 Favourite Love Songs.

5)     Drive by Incubus

Yet another song that reminds me of the 90s. I used to listen to this song a lot when I was a kid. Loved it then, still love it now.

So there it is! Finally, a post that doesn’t require so much thinking on my part. The previous posts have left me feeling so emotionally drained and it was fun to finally write about something on a happier note. Maybe I should rename this post to “My 5 Favourite Love Songs and Songs From The 90s”. Hmm.

Leave a Reply

