Day 8: Five Current Goals

I know how behind I am on the 30-day blogging challenge. It’s only Day 8 on my blog but in reality, a month has come and gone, and as usual, I blame my schedule for that. But on to better things.

I’m a very goal-oriented person, so today’s post is (relatively) easy to churn out. The only challenge comes in the word current since I have many goals at this point in time, so it is a little difficult for me, so here goes:

1.     Graduate with a CGPA of 3.5/Graduate with six Dean’s List awards in a row

… In case you didn’t know, I have 6 semesters, so this is something I have to really focus my attention on. I don’t exactly want to fall out of the Dean’s List, but at the same time, judging from what has been happening this semester, I’m not sure if I’ll make it, so I’ll lower my standards and say I want to graduate with a CGPA of at least 3.5.

I learnt that attaining good results opens a lot of doors. I used to be rather lax when it came to matters pertaining to my studies, but now that I’ve gotten a chance to do what I love doing, I would rather not squander the opportunity that has been given to me. Undoubtedly, there are many setbacks I have to deal with, the biggest being uncooperative and incompetent group members and stingy-ass lecturers who do nothing but poke at your flaws and mistakes, but I guess that’s part and parcel of being in university. Right now, I’m just trying to survive the semester, so fingers crossed.

2.     Write for a living

After taking News Writing as a core course this semester, I find that writing is not as easy as I thought it would be, even for me. I’ve had years of experience writing all sorts of shit, and yet, I struggle with writing the most simple of things: news. Being a newspaper reporter is not easy, and it definitely not something I want to do in the future. I guess I haven’t really found my niche, but in the meantime, I’ll have to dig deep and discover the type of writer I really am.

Who knows, maybe it will be my calling to be a newspaper reporter someday *shudders*

Oh, no editing for me either. That shit is too stressful. After editing my classmates’ work, I have, on more than one occasion, questioned my own sanity.

3.     Earn a steady income

In exactly two years, I will be graduating. I have two options

–     To secure a scholarship and pursue my graduate degree (see why I need that stellar CGPA?)

–     But if all else fails, I wouldn’t mind getting my hands in some dirt and going out to work in the real world.

At the end of the day, I would want a job facing the computer and potentially contracting carpal tunnel syndrome doing something I really love, and providing for my family.

And sustain my shopaholic lifestyle.

4.     Marry

One of my biggest dreams is to get married. WTF. No lie, though. I’ve had a million reasons to believe that marriages never work out, but I still want to get married someday.

Preferably to a man with nice blonde hair and 6 feet tall.

5.     TRAVEL

This is the one thing everyone shares in common; travel. I hate planes, but I love exploring new places and learning new things in a foreign environment. Not a fan of the walking, though.

This post took a little over 10 minutes to write. *pats myself on the back* Time to study for my midterms now, but I will be back soon!

Author: Natalie Ha

I remember being enthralled with the written word ever since my parents started reading fairytales to me at a young age. Seeing the power it has to influence behaviours and mindsets, I have learned, over the years, to translate my thoughts onto paper, in an attempt to positively disrupt the lives of others. Having my written works published in various forms of media has empowered me to weave stories that people can resonate with. I look forward to the life-long process of perfecting this craft, and hope to see my work touch the hearts of many in the future. This blog attempts to do just that - and I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy penning it down.

Leave a Reply

