Why I Believe in “New Year, New Me”

Fireworks Disneyland

Picture taken at Disneyland Hong Kong (20th December 2014)

Before everyone rolls their eyes at the title of this post, I would like to wish everyone a Happy 2015. 2014 was a bittersweet year, with tragedies, loss of lives and disasters, but 2014 was also a year of milestones and achievements. There is much to be learned from 2014, and I’m really optimistic about 2015 being a great year. The New Year is so symbolic. It doesn’t just mean another calendar or planner to buy, to me, it means a new, clean slate to write in. I’ve always loved new notebooks, planners and journals. The immaculate white pages, the new book smell and the fact that anything can be written in it– that’s what excites me.

The New Year can be equated to that. 365 new days to create new memories, to learn new skills, to cultivate new contacts. As much as you’re still physically the same person as you were yesterday in 2014, you have a chance to make the new year memorable. When we remember details of our past, we don’t remember that it happened on the 23rd of April 2008 at 5pm. We remember that it was 2008, and this is especially true as time passes and memories start to blur and converge. 10 years from now, in 2025, I’m not going to remember all the amazing things I learned on specific dates. I’m going to remember that 2015 was a year where I accomplished all that I wanted to.

With that, I would also like to point out that I strongly believe in making New Year’s Resolutions for myself. I’ve had the tradition of making resolutions for as long as I can remember, and only recently, did I start to learn that resolutions have to be kept realistic, according to our personal capacities, strengths and weaknesses. Last year, I penned my resolutions in a blog post you can find here and I’m proud to say that I accomplished nearly all of them (save the curse less part). This year, I’ve expanded my list of goals and resolutions, and I’m optimistic that I will be able to type that I accomplished all of them a year from now.

So, why do I believe in “New Year, New Me”? If you are a natural procrastinator like I am, you look for every opportunity you can to put off important tasks, and in this case, self-improvement. People say, “Why should I wait for the new year to make a change in my life? I have 364 other days, why wait for the next year?” Point taken, but the New Year gives people a reason to improve themselves. Personally, I need that push. As much as I strive to change that every day in my life, the New Year, being a milestone, gives people a solid reason to work towards changing themselves. It’s amazing to see how people are optimistic about the days to come, and it’s great to see that people are always striving harder in life.

I don’t know how I grew up to become more optimistic about life and challenges that lie ahead. I used to be a pessimist, but changing your outloook can really change your life. Remember that you are the only one in control of your own life, and never let other people dictate your thoughts, feelings and actions. Happy 2015 yet again, and may 2015 be a year of positive changes, happiness and love for everyone.

Author: Natalie Ha

I remember being enthralled with the written word ever since my parents started reading fairytales to me at a young age. Seeing the power it has to influence behaviours and mindsets, I have learned, over the years, to translate my thoughts onto paper, in an attempt to positively disrupt the lives of others. Having my written works published in various forms of media has empowered me to weave stories that people can resonate with. I look forward to the life-long process of perfecting this craft, and hope to see my work touch the hearts of many in the future. This blog attempts to do just that - and I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy penning it down.

Leave a Reply

