Hong Kong Day 3: The Tour

Day Three was mostly reserved for sightseeing, and that Sunday, we went to a few locations for shopping, but more importantly, walking more than I ever did in my entire life.

The first thing we did was take a cable car ride to Lantau Island, which my uncles so mischievously called Lanjiao Island. The cable car ride didn’t take very long, mainly because we were fixated on the stunning view beneath us:

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Featuring the Hong Kong skyline, which looks more stunning at night

The cable car took us to the island where there were buildings with traditional architecture. Upon closer inspection, we found that these buildings housed international franchises like Starbucks and Subway -_- Expectation: Traditional Tea House, Reality: Starbucks.

IMG_8642

Because this was at a peak area, the weather there was extra chilly.

IMG_8643

One of the many gift shops there

IMG_8644

Then came a long walk to the monastery

IMG_8646

Ten Thousand Buddhas Monastery

IMG_8647

The name of the monastery should be self-explanatory now

IMG_8648

Architecture only seen in movies. Nearby is a vegetarian restaurant where I had my first vegetarian meal. Verdict? Never again.

IMG_8655

We had our family photo taken for free at one of the souvenir shops along Lantau Island

We left Lantau Island by bus to go to Tai O, a small fishing village near Lantau Island. Of course, this place interested my grandparents and uncles very much because they’re in the seafood business, but for someone who isn’t adept with these things, I found this place just all right. The scenery was great, though.

IMG_8650

For some reason, this place reminded me a lot of Dalat, Sarawak

IMG_8651

Ngong Ping 360 sampans which reminded me of the sampans in Kuching

IMG_8652

A great view of the mountains

IMG_8653

Fishing boats and jetties

After Tai O, we took a bus down to the city, where the adults (including myself) wanted to shop. The bus ride was long and rocky, and it took us about an hour to get from Tai O to Citygate Outlet Mall where we went shopping. Don’t be fooled by its name, that mall was ridiculously expensive, and the weirdest thing we saw was a queue just to enter Coach! To think that the Coach store in Kuching is practically deserted. Needless to say, I left empty-handed, except for a cup of Haagen-Dazs.

After a dim sum dinner, we went to Avenue of Stars, which is basically Hong Kong’s own Hollywood Walk of Fame. I don’t know many Cantopop stars or Hong Kong actors and actresses, so I was more interested in the view from there.

IMG_8666

STUNNING. I am such a sucker for city skylines.

When everyone was done, we went back to our hotel to freshen up before walking to Ladies’ Market, Mong Kok, behind our hotel. Mong Kok is and was notoriously known for being the Hong Kong protesters’ favourite venue. It was only a month later when I realized that many scenes in Blackhat were filmed there. I walked the same street Chris Hemsworth walked!!! But I digress. Because it was a weekend, there were many street performers there that night, including this man:

IMG_8681

You can’t really see it, but he was balancing himself on a plank, which was balanced on a cylindrical object, while balancing plates on a stick. I tipped him HK$20 for that.

The best part about my visit to the Ladies’ Market was seeing the protesters and their yellow umbrellas. Of course, they were harmless, and nothing happened to me because I was a tourist, but I had my passport with me anyway. There was also a street brawl that occurred right in front of me, and I watched as police officers chased them down the street. That, in itself, called for an Academy Award.

Author: Natalie Ha

I remember being enthralled with the written word ever since my parents started reading fairytales to me at a young age. Seeing the power it has to influence behaviours and mindsets, I have learned, over the years, to translate my thoughts onto paper, in an attempt to positively disrupt the lives of others. Having my written works published in various forms of media has empowered me to weave stories that people can resonate with. I look forward to the life-long process of perfecting this craft, and hope to see my work touch the hearts of many in the future. This blog attempts to do just that - and I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy penning it down.

Leave a Reply

