Hong Kong Day 4: Ocean Park & Shopping

If you know Hong Kong, you know Ocean Park. It is an ocean-themed amusement park, with game stalls, roller coaster rides and live shows. After the magic that was Disneyland, the bar was set pretty high for Ocean Park, at least to me anyway. I left my phone in the locker for the entire duration of our visit there because it’s Ocean Park after all, and I didn’t want to get my phone wet. That’s why I don’t have any pictures of the place, only videos of the Ocean Conservation show. Let’s just say– the adult roller coaster rides are awesome. I’m usually not one who appreciates roller coaster rides, but the ones I got on were thrilling in the most enjoyable way.

SUCH CUTE SEALS

And dolphins!

They were adorable.

Overall, Ocean Park is quite all right– although the McDonald’s there is a ripoff. We left Ocean Park early to go shopping at Tsim Sha Tsui, Hong Kong’s popular shopping destination.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

And to prove my point, here’s a picture of the crowd at 1881 Heritage. According to my tour guide, this building is one of the oldest buildings in Hong Kong.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

The Christmas tinsels and hollies were gorgeous. Obviously we didn’t buy anything there because the only shops there are high end luxury brands like Cartier and Tiffany’s.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Very artsy fartsy.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

I’ve never seen so many Christmas trees side-by-side in one spot before.

IMG_8733

Street decorations

Maybe it was just the areas I went to, but Hong Kong during Christmastime is crazy festive, and I love it. I’m big on Christmas– it’s my favourite time of the year and I get excited well in advance, so I definitely enjoyed it immensely. In the end, I managed to shop a little, thus wrapping my trip up the way I wanted to.

I left Hong Kong early the next morning, and all in all, I love Hong Kong during Christmas– festive, busy and just the right temperature– but I could do without the rude locals. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to pay a visit as a tourist!

Leave a Reply

