Of learning that patience is a virtue

SkyThe last time I wrote anything was two months ago. I always tell people that writing is my first love, my true love; but nothing ever prepares me for the torrent of distractions that are hurled at me come the new semester. I am currently approaching Week 5 of my final semester, and it has been nothing but stressful, to say the least. Every day is a test of my patience, my emotional strength and my physical capabilities. I rarely ever get a night of uninterrupted sleep anymore because once I close my eyes, I feel guilty that I am not working. When I actually get to fall asleep, it is barely a deep sleep– I am merely drifting in and out of consciousness until my alarm rings. I forget to drink enough water regularly, and even forget to have my meals because I come home every day just to start work on everything I have to do.

Why is it such a struggle? People are going to argue that being a student is easy, and is more stress-free than the working world. Between co-directing a campaign, I find myself designing all the artwork with what little Adobe skills I have, manning the frontline, and making executive decisions for said campaign. I am also editing articles for my church youth group’s annual magazine, looking for internships and full-time employment, on top of fieldwork, academic essays, and my thesis. Every day, I question myself, “why does it have to be so difficult? I just want to graduate.”

The most important lesson that I am learning through this journey is that patience is a virtue. When my phone is ringing non-stop and I have to entertain inquiries even when I am busy, I learn patience, because they do not know any better. When my superiors are demanding for me to drop everything to make changes to my design on the spot even though I submitted them much earlier in advance, I learn patience, because they are my superiors and I am in no place to challenge their autonomy. When my group mates are not replying texts about assigned tasks and leave it all up to me, I learn patience, because this is nothing new to me anymore.

Normally, patience does not come easy to me. I am a person who prefers instant gratification– I work hard now, and I want to see results now. I do not enjoy waiting around for others, and I do not like it when people disrespect the time I invest into doing things. This whole ordeal is teaching me that sometimes, delayed gratification is the best reward to hard work; because sometimes, the richest and most plentiful harvest takes time to grow.

The best reminder comes from my favourite Bible verse that gets me through times like this, “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as though you were working for the Lord and not for people” (Colossians 3:23). In three months, this will all be over.

Author: Natalie Ha

I remember being enthralled with the written word ever since my parents started reading fairytales to me at a young age. Seeing the power it has to influence behaviours and mindsets, I have learned, over the years, to translate my thoughts onto paper, in an attempt to positively disrupt the lives of others. Having my written works published in various forms of media has empowered me to weave stories that people can resonate with. I look forward to the life-long process of perfecting this craft, and hope to see my work touch the hearts of many in the future. This blog attempts to do just that - and I hope you enjoy reading it as much as I enjoy penning it down.

Leave a Reply

