Lessons learned

photo_2017-04-25_17-29-05As I write this, I am on my flight back to Kuala Lumpur.

What an amazing weekend it has been – the perfect break from reality.

I never thought I would be one to crave for the comfort of home, but over the course of the past 6 months, so much has changed – and all I needed was the warm embrace of home to remedy the aching in my heart.

My foray into the world of adulthood has been tumultuous, to say the least. It has been an arduous journey of self-discovery, albeit a short one. During my trip home, I managed to spend some time by the beach doing the one thing I’ve been craving for a long time: reflect.

With my toes in the sand and the salty sea breeze blowing gently, I realized that in the past 6 months, I learned more about myself than I ever had in my entire life.

I learned that although I am in pursuit of stability and a career I am passionate about, I am impulsive and I am more likely to succumb to societal pressures than the average millennial.

I learned that although I would like to deny it, financial security takes precedence in any career path that I choose.

I learned that sometimes, people are disguised as friends, but they turn out to be the ones who pull the rug beneath you – and sometimes, those who appear to be against you, are the ones who are rooting for you the most.

I learned that it is easy to lose yourself in your own path, and dwelling on your problems can be much easier than getting up and doing something about it.

I learned that maybe, I am not as strong as I would like to think I am.

Nonetheless, I have made my decision: to put myself first, to care for my own well-being, and finally chart the path I have been wanting to chart since the day I realized my life’s mission. It took me all of 6 months to realize this, and I am glad that I have been blessed with the ability to see it sooner, rather than later.

Today, I will do something for me, and there is no turning back now.

1 thought on “Lessons learned”

  1. Nice reflection tho. Well nice writing as usual 🙂 i guess what we (you, me, him, her, the dog etc) are going to go through is a tough period of adaptation or transformation? From a relatively safe and controlled environment to a strange environment called society/working place etc. Just pray that you accept the reality of this world we’re living in but never ever turn against your playful heart. Stay strong (at least someone believes you’re strong). Yeap. Catch up with you one day 🙂

Leave a Reply

